Some links on this page are affiliate links. If you buy through them, I may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Read the disclosure.
Real e-bike range estimator
Updated Oct 28, 2026 · Built from 8 full-charge range tests I filmed
Makers print the biggest range number they can. Here's what I actually got when I rode a bike from full to empty, set against the biggest number the maker lists. Put in the rated range of the bike you're looking at and I'll show you the spread from my own tests.
In my tests, throttle-only rides got 31 to 60% of the rated range. For a bike rated at 50 miles, that's about 16 to 30 miles.
This is plain arithmetic on my own rides, not a promise. I'm about 200 lb and most of my tests were on hills, so a lighter rider on flat pavement can beat these numbers. Cold weather, cargo and a passenger cut range further.
The tests behind it
| Bike | How I rode | I got | Maker lists | Share |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aventon Sinch | one full charge (mode not stated) | 42 mi (5:27) | 40 mi | 105% |
| Aventon Aventure (1st gen) | pedal assist 5, hills and off-road | 41 mi (5:25) | up to about 45 mi | 91% |
| Fahrbike Roadster 73 | winter, about 200 lb rider (mode not stated) | 42 mi (4:01) | 35 to 60 mi | 70% |
| Rattan LF 750 Pro | solo rider, full battery (mode not stated) | 27 mi (7:40) | up to 55 mi | 49% |
| Velotric Discover 1 Step-Through | throttle only, hilly track, about 200 lb | 39 mi (2:22) | up to 65 mi (58 mi on throttle) | 60% |
| Bee Cool Adventurer | throttle only, not flat, about 200 lb | 32 mi (2:07) | up to 80 mi (about 50 mi on throttle) | 40% |
| MOD Easy with SideCar | throttle only, two kids plus me at about 200 lb | 20 mi (2:56) | up to 50 mi on one battery | 40% |
| Engwe EP-2 Pro | full throttle, no pedaling, hilly, about 200 lb | 23 mi (7:49) | up to 75 mi (24 mi on electric only) | 31% |
The mileage links jump to the moment in my video where I say the number. Where the maker lists both a throttle and a pedal-assist figure, the share is worked out against the bigger one, since that's the number on the box. Some of my bikes only had their odometer read on camera, not a full-charge test, so they're left out.
What eats your range
- Throttle only: my throttle runs got well under half the headline number on most bikes.
- Rider weight and hills: I'm about 200 lb and rarely test on flat ground.
- Cold: my Fahrbike run was in winter, and I still got 42 miles.
- Passengers and cargo: my MOD Easy SideCar got about 20 miles carrying two kids and me.
See the bikes with the biggest batteries I've ridden in longest-range e-bikes, or how I test.